Just In Time (JIT) Planning

Prasad Revur (Senior Program Manager) posted 12/22/2007 | Comments (4)

Just In Time (JIT) is a very popular concept in
material planning. There are thousands of articles and books available. But in
practice many organizations fail to get the benefits of the concept. What are
some impediments that are affecting the implementation of this technique?

Lack of Understanding

The first and foremost is
the lack of understanding and clarity of the technique to be used. Majority of
the situations, the management understands the need and benefits of the system
but the team which has to implement this do not have enough training or
knowledge about the planning method. This leads to a lot of confusion,
apprehension and insecurity due to fear of failure. This in turn will lead
intial resistance to change.

Re-structuring the
Facilities

Many times, when a new systems are to be
implemented, the tendency is to use the same facilities, with a few minor
changes. This is dangerous, particularly when you are implementing JIT systems.
This requires a paradigm change in thinking, layouts, mind set of the people,
training and new equipment may be necessary.

Learning
Curve

When a new system is implemented, there is always a
comparison between the old systems and new systems. To get out of the comfort
zone and to adopt to a new situation or system requires constant motivation and
monitoring. Remember there is always a learning curve before peak is reached.
During this period, the managers and supervisors need to be patient and be
empathetic to the needs of the work force and encourage them to adopt to this
system. Rewards, recognition should also be part of this process.

JIT
surely removes the non value added tasks from the process and thus reducing
cycle time and improving productivity. Have a wonderful new year!!

Categories: JIT | Tags: , , | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “Just In Time (JIT) Planning

  1. Good way of describing, annd fastidiius piece of writing to get facts on the
    topic of mmy resentation subject matter, which i am going to present in institution of higher education.

  2. I like the valuable information you provide
    in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite
    certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the
    next!

  3. Very soon this web site will be famous among all blog users, due to it’s nice articles or reviews

  4. whoah this weblog is excellent i like reading your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You already know, lots of people are searching around for this info, you could help them greatly.

  5. Hello to all, the contents present at this website are actually awesome for people knowledge, well,
    keep up the nice work fellows.

  6. Great blog here! Additionally your website rather a lot
    up fast! What host are you the use of? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink
    on your host? I want my site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  7. It’s going to be end off minje day, but before finish I am reading this fantastic post to
    improve my experience.

  8. Hey are using Wordprress for your blpog platform? I’m
    new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any html cding expertise to make your own
    blog? Any help would bee greatly appreciated!

  9. Wow, this post is pleasant, my sister is analyzing such things, therefore I am going to tell her.

  10. I love what you guys are usually up too. This
    type of clever work and reporting! Keep up the very
    good works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.

  11. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and
    do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very
    great article.

  12. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to check it
    out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and superb style and design.

  13. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and
    now whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails
    with the exact same comment. Perhaps there
    is a way you can remove me from that service? Kudos!

  14. There was fear that her passing would bring about political
    strife and possibly civil war over the succession of the crown. We have to
    watch the results of the 2014 general elections and see.
    Had you purchased the novel from a private book dealer making a profit
    you would still have had the tangible goods, however it would have cost you more and given a profit to the dealer.

  15. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to check it out.

    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and wonderful style and design.

  16. Attribute chihuahua info which make it a good
    pet pet dog are its little size, cute glimpse, graceful and
    intelligent nature. Here are 3 of the most common approaches to separation anxiety that are almost
    guaranteed to increase your dog’s anxiety rather than make them feel
    better. By coming up with a command that allows you to control the barking, your dog shall learn to
    control the barking when it is not essential.

  17. Never think that, because it is small, the Chihuahua does not need exercise, although they
    do not require as much room to do so. Uno Lodge is owned by
    a group of about 45 Tarahumara families. There
    is no shame in this, and you still get to shower your pet with love and affection after the groomer or veterinarian has the job done.

  18. Attribute chihuahua info which make it a good pet pet dog are its
    little size, cute glimpse, graceful and intelligent nature.
    Browse the site Dog Training Club to learn training tips for different
    breed of dogs. Brief-haired Chihuahuas want very small brushing, most likely after each wek or so.

  19. You definitely only want the best for your mama Chihuahua don’t you.
    This kind of an involved is what warrants the demands for Chihuahua or even maltipoo forr sale to increase.
    It isn’t something everybody thinks of but a Chihuahua breeder might be prepared to act as a Chihuahua rescue centre occasionally.

  20. A chihuahua puppy is a wonderful addition to any house hold.
    Continue this term every time you take your chihuahua outside for potty.
    This can have a detrimental affect on their potty-training.

  21. Considering this fact, customers should only visit reputed
    sites offering teacup puppies for sale. Personality that doesn’t mesh well with
    a shelter environment. It has large, round, very dark eyes
    and large ears.

  22. You definitely only want the best for your mama Chihuahua
    don’t you. Each dog is different and will respond differently to this therapy.

    It has large, round, very dark eyes and large ears.

  23. Numerous rescue centers aren’t adoption companies so they’ll obtain the animals,
    look after them, and then function with an Chihuahua
    Adoption team to locate a new home. Here are 3 of the most common approaches to separation anxiety that
    are almost guaranteed to increase your dog’s anxiety rather than make them feel better.
    Just make sure to keep their long coat from tangles.

  24. The simplest explanation is that they may be hungry or they might be trying to clean up their space.

    Continue this term every time you take your chihuahua
    outside for potty. There is no shame in this, and you
    still get to shower your pet with love and affection after the groomer or veterinarian has
    the job done.

  25. Considering this fact, customers should only visit reputed sites offering teacup puppies for sale.
    And to top off the look she drove her customised
    blue Bentley. You may even be entertained watching them push and shove this dog toy all over the yard.

  26. I am curious to find out what blog system you ave beern using?
    I’m experiencing some minor security issues with mmy latest site and I would
    like to find something more safe. Do you hhave any suggestions?

  27. Good day I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching
    on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now
    and would just like to say kudos for a marvelous
    post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also
    included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

